Board of Directors

The Manx Credit Union can have between 5 and 15 individuals who voluntarily serve as Directors on behalf of the members.  Each Director must be a member of the credit union.  Any member can be nominated as a Director and, if elected at the Annual General Meeting, they serve for a period of three years after which they can seek re-election.

After the Annual General Meeting, the Board of Directors elects from amongst its number a Chairperson, Vice- Chairperson, Treasurer and Secretary:  each of these individuals shall hold office until the election of a successor.

Current Board Members

Gillian Bowles (Chair)

Gillian has a wealth of experience in industry and commerce from running an Enterprise Agency and a small business start-up loan fund for Shell UK, to working with industrial psychologists and mentoring from shop floor to CEO level.  With an MBA, PGCE and as an Open University lecturer, she loves learning new things and is a certified forklift truck driver.


Ian Yates (Secretary)

Ian worked as an auditor in the public sector for most of his working life.  He ran his own audit and consultancy business in Yorkshire prior to moving to the Isle of Man in 2001, and in 2014 joined the working group that helped to establish the Manx Credit Union.

David Allwood (Treasurer)

David has over 33 years' experience at a senior level as a Financial Manager and has worked in several different industries. A strong finance professional with CIMA Management Accounting (part qualified) from University of Northumbria at Newcastle, he retired in 2019. This has given him more time to concentrate on helping the team develop the Manx Credit Union and his role as Treasurer and Director.

David moved to the Isle of Man in 1995 and has been a volunteer for the Manx Credit Union Treasury team since 2017.  He is also a volunteer for Manx National Heritage and was awarded a BA (Honours) degree in History and Heritage Management with Manx Studies from the University of Chester in 2015. David also has co-written several articles on the History and Archaeology of the Island and is joint editor and publisher of an online journal.

Neil Booth (Vice-Chair)

Having worked in the industry for over 35 years, Neil has a wealth of knowledge and experience in banking both in the UK and the Isle of Man, covering many different roles. He also spent 12 years in the infantry of the Territorial Army, has completed the Three Peaks and taken part in the Parish Walk and Fire Stations Challenge. He is married with two children.

Wendy Shimmin (Director - Marketing & PR)

Wendy is a freelance marketing/PR professional and copywriter who has worked at senior management level in the Isle of Man’s financial services industry. Formerly Marketing Manager at a mutually-owned bank, she has been involved with the Manx Credit Union working group from its early days and is a strong supporter of the co-operative business model.

Andrew Dunlop

Andy worked for Barclays for some 41 years where he undertook various roles mainly in loan assessment and sanctioning.  He moved to the Isle of Man in 2004 and, following his retirement, enjoys his hobbies which include golf and bridge.

Joyce Hatton

Joyce worked for over 30 years in community development and regeneration roles in some of Greater Manchester's most deprived neighbourhoods. While based in Stockport in the 1990s she helped establish several local credit unions. After relocating to the Isle of Man in 2010 she became part of the Manx Credit Union steering group and joined the Board in 2020.

Other Non-Board Positions

David Talbot (Honorary President)

David founded and ran a domestic credit company for eighteen years before the group he was employed by sold it on to a local finance company.  He is a qualified Company Secretary and up to retirement had his own accountancy business.  For the last three years he has been engaged with bringing to fruition the Island's first credit union.   Married to Ravina, he has two grown up children, and has lived in the West of the Island for the last forty years.  He has been involved with several third sector enterprises, charities and faith groups.  Enjoys walking and chocolate brazils.